Subproject 4 School-to-work transitions and health inequalities among young adults

The entrance into professional life usually occurs between the ages of 16 and 24 years and is a crucial period in the life course. The presence of socioeconomic inequalities in health at this stage is therefore problematic and requires further research. These inequalities are determined by individual-level (i.e., behavioural, material, and psychosocial) factors which are, in turn, affected by more distal institutional contexts at the meso-level which young adults attend at this stage of life (e.g. universities, vocational schools).

Each of these institutions provides distinct contexts that directly and indirectly influence health and that may aggravate or decrease health inequalities. Thus, to gain a better understanding of health inequalities among young adults, the complex interrelation of individual and institutional factors at the meso-level needs to be taken into account. Because there is, to date, a striking lack of research on the role of meso-level factors during ‘school-to-work transitions’, the aim of this subproject is to provide new evidence on this issue.

Research questions are:

  1. Which individual-level determinants (behavioural, material, and psychosocial) contribute to an association between SEP and health among young adults?
  2. Is the association between SEP, individual-level determinants and health influenced by the type of institution which young adults enter during school-to-work transitions (e.g. vocational training vs. university)?
  3. Which specific contextual characteristics of single institutional units (e.g. of work environments) affect the emergence of health inequalities?

Based on an overview of the literature, the project will first summarize current evidence on health inequalities during school-to work transitions and generate a conceptual framework for the empirical part which includes three empirical case studies. In the first study, longitudinal data of the starting cohort 4 of the German National Educational Panel Study (NEPS) will be used to investigates how health inequalities develop from the age of 16 to 24 years, how individual-level factors contribute to health inequalities and how different institutional contexts moderate or mediate health inequalities. In studies 2 and 3, the focus will lie on analyzing the impact of specific contextual characteristics of two single institutions, namely university (longitudinal, NEPS, starting cohort 5, university students) and vocational training/work (cross-sectional, ‘Jugenderwerbstätigenbefragung’). Results will inform the overarching multi-level model of health inequalities from birth to young adulthood to be developed by the coordination project. Findings of this subproject are an important contribution further illuminating a life stage that is crucial for health in later life and the role of key societal institutions.


Institute of Medical Sociology, Centre for Health and Society, Medical Faculty, Heinrich Heine
University Düsseldorf

  • Nico Dragano, Prof. Dr.
  • Claudia Pischke. Prof. Dr.
  • Marvin Reuter, M.A.

Teilprojekt 4 Übergänge von der Schule in den Beruf und gesundheitliche Ungleichheiten bei jungen Erwachsenen

Die Berufseinstiegsphase umfasst üblicherweise die Zeit vom 16. bis zum 24. Lebensjahr und ist in vielerlei Hinsicht entscheidend für den weiteren Lebenslauf. Vor diesem Hintergrund sind die während dieses Lebensabschnitts verstärkt auftretenden gesundheitlichen Ungleichheiten in besonderem Maße problematisch und verlangen nach Erklärungen. Diese sind zunächst bei den vermittelnden Faktoren auf individueller Ebene zu suchen (materielle, psychosoziale, verhaltensbezogene Faktoren). Zudem ist aber dem Umstand Rechnung zu tragen, dass individuelle Einflussfaktoren in institutionelle Kontexte auf der Meso-Ebene eingebettet sind (z.B. Universität, Betrieb).

Jede dieser Institutionen stellt ein spezifisches kontextuelles Setting dar, das direkt oder indirekt auf die Gesundheit seiner Mitglieder wirkt und gesundheitliche Ungleichheiten verstärken oder verringern kann. Um ein besseres Verständnis gesundheitlicher Ungleichheit bei jungen Erwachsenen zu erreichen, gilt es also, die komplexen Verbindungen von individuellen und kontextuellen Faktoren der Meso-Ebene zu berücksichtigen. Da es auffallend wenig Forschung zur dieser Thematik gibt, ist das Ziel dieses Teilprojekts, hierzu neue Erkenntnisse zu liefern.

Die Forschungsfragen lauten:

  1. Welche Determinanten auf individueller Ebene tragen zum Zusammenhang zwischen der sozio-ökonomischen Position und der Gesundheit bei jungen Erwachsenen bei?
  2. Ist der Zusammenhang zwischen der sozio-ökonomischen Position, den individuellen Faktoren und der Gesundheit abhängig von der Art der Institution(en), die junge Erwachsene in der Berufseinstiegsphase besuchen?
  3. Welche spezifischen kontextuellen Merkmale der einzelnen Institution beeinflussen das Auftreten gesundheitlicher Ungleichheiten?

Mittels einer Literaturübersicht wird zunächst der Forschungsstand zur gesundheitlichen Ungleichheit während der Berufseinstiegsphase zusammengefasst und ein konzeptioneller Rahmen für den empirischen Teil erstellt, der aus drei Studien besteht. Die erste nutzt Längsschnittdaten der Startkohorte 4 des Nationalen Bildungspanels (NEPS SC4) und untersucht, wie sich gesundheitliche Ungleichheiten im Alter von 16 bis 24 Jahren entwickeln, welche individuellen Faktoren Ungleichheiten erklären und ob unterschiedliche Institutionen dabei als Mediatoren oder Moderatoren fungieren. Die zweite und dritte Studie setzt jeweils den Fokus auf die Beispiele Universität (NEPS, Startkohorte 5, Studierende) und Beruf (Querschnitt, ‘Jugenderwerbstätigenbefragung’), um spezifische kontextuelle Merkmale der Institution in ihrer Wirkung zu analysieren. Die Ergebnisse werden in das forschergruppenübergreifende Mehrebenen-Modell der gesundheitlichen Ungleichheit von der Geburt bis ins junge Erwachsenenalter integriert. Erkenntnisse aus diesem Teilprojekt liefern einen wesentlichen Beitrag, da sie einen Lebensabschnitt von besonderer Bedeutung für die spätere Gesundheit beleuchten und zentrale gesellschaftliche Institutionen betreffen.


Institut für Medizinische Soziologie, Centre for Health and Society, Medizinische Fakultät, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf

  • Nico Dragano, Prof. Dr.
  • Claudia Pischke. Prof. Dr.
  • Marvin Reuter, M.A.