Subproject 2 Kindergarten and health inequalities in childhood

Preschool age is considered to be a crucial developmental period for socioeconomic inequalities in health. Besides the family as the primary agent of socialisation, kindergartens are the most important agent of socialisation at this stage of life with an attendance rate of more than 93% in Germany. The questions of whether contextual and compositional characteristics of kindergartens are associated with
health outcomes, and if so, which ones, have hardly been empirically studied to date.

Previous research has focused mostly on the effect of kindergarten attendance per se or evaluated particular Health promotion programmes within specific kindergartens. SP2 aims at closing this research gap. The overall aim of SP2 is to investigate the role of individual determinants as well as compositional and contextual characteristics of kindergartens to explain socioeconomic health inequalities and health in pre-schoolers.

Following the conceptual framework of the research unit, SP2 will address the following research questions:

  1. Do individual determinants contribute to the explanation of health and health inequalities in pre-school children, and which factors at the individual level show the strongest relative contribution for the explanation of health and health inequalities in this age group.
  2. Which compositional and contextual characteristics of kindergartens are associated with health and health inequalities in preschool children?
  3. Is the association between socioeconomic position and health mediated or moderated by compositional and contextual characteristics of the kindergarten context above and beyond individual-level determinants?

Based on a scoping review of the most recent evidence, SP2 will use two secondary datasets (the PRe-school Intervention Study PRINS and the German National Educational Panel Study NEPS. Collected in 52 kindergartens, the PRINS dataset includes very detailed (and partly longitudinal) data of n=1,134 children for general health and health behaviour as well as comprehensive contextual and compositional data of the kindergartens. Moreover, PRINS is one of the few datasets worldwide and the only one in Germany that assessed physical activity in pre-schoolers objectively using accelerometry. The NEPS dataset is a nation-wide representative study with multi-cohort sequence design. The relevant cohort comprises 2,949 children from about 250 kindergartens, surveyed in six subsequent annual waves. The comprehensive data include not only health outcomes but also data on kindergarten context and composition. Based on the overarching conceptual model, SP2 will provide new empirical evidence for the association between kindergartens as institutional contexts and individual health outcomes and health inequalities. SP2 will thus close a gap in research on life course influences on health inequalities in very early life at the interface of sociology, epidemiology and public health in Germany.



Mannheim Institute of Public Health, Social and Preventive Medicine, Medical Faculty Mannheim, Heidelberg University

  • Sven Schneider, apl. Prof. Dr.
  • Jennifer Hilger-Kolb, M.Sc.
  • Raphael Herr, Dr.
  • Katharina Diehl, PD Dr.

Teilprojekt 2 Kindergarten und gesundheitliche Ungleichheiten im Kindesalter

Das Vorschulalter gilt als entscheidende Entwicklungsphase für gesundheitliche Ungleichheiten. Neben der Familie als primärem Sozialisationsagent sind Kindergärten, welche von 93% der Kinder in Deutschland besucht werden, in dieser Lebensphase der wichtigste institutionelle Sozialisationsagent. Die Frage, ob und welche kontextuellen und kompositionellen Merkmale von Kindergärten mit Gesundheit in Verbindung stehen, wurde bisher kaum empirisch untersucht.

Bislang lag der Fokus auf der Analyse des Kindergartenbesuchs per se und der Evaluation spezieller Gesundheitsförderungsprogramme in einzelnen Kindergärten. SP2 hat das Ziel, diese Forschungslücke zu schließen. Das übergeordnete Ziel von SP2 ist, die Rolle individueller Determinanten sowie kompositioneller und kontextueller Merkmale von Kindergärten zu untersuchen, um gesundheitliche Ungleichheiten und Gesundheit bei Kindern im Vorschulalter zu erklären.

Folgende Forschungsfragen stehen dabei im Fokus:

  1. Welche individuellen Determinanten tragen zur Erklärung von Gesundheit und gesundheitlicher Ungleichheit bei Kindergartenkindern bei und welche dieser Determinanten zeigen den stärksten relativen Beitrag zur Erklärung von Gesundheit und gesundheitlichen Ungleichheiten in dieser Altersgruppe?
  2. Welche kompositionellen und kontextuellen Eigenschaften von Kindergärten sind mit Gesundheit und gesundheitlicher Ungleichheit assoziiert?
  3. Wird die Assoziation zwischen sozioökonomischem Status und Gesundheit – unabhängig von individuellen Determinanten – von kompositionellen und kontextuellen Merkmalen des Kindergartens mediiert oder moderiert?

Basierend auf einem im Rahmen des Projekts durchzuführenden Scoping-Review zum Forschungsstand werden im Anschluss zwei Sekundärdatensätze ausgewertet (PReschool INtervention Study PRINS und National Educational Panel Study NEPS). Der in 52 Kindergärten (n=1.134 Kinder) erhobene PRINS-Datensatz enthält sehr detaillierte (und teilweise longitudinale) Daten zu Gesundheit und Gesundheitsverhalten sowie umfassende kontextuelle und kompositionelle Daten der Kindergärten. Darüber hinaus ist PRINS einer der wenigen Datensätze weltweit und der einzige in Deutschland, der körperliche Aktivität für Kinder im Vorschulalter objektiv durch Akzelerometrie gemessen hat. Der NEPS-Datensatz ist eine bundesweite Repräsentativstudie im Multi-Kohorten-Sequenz-Design. Die für SP2 relevante Kohorte umfasst 2.949 Kinder aus etwa 250 Kindergärten, die in sechs aufeinanderfolgenden Wellen longitudinal befragt wurden. Die Daten umfassen einerseits Gesundheitsvariablen und andererseits kontextuelle und kompositionelle Daten zu den Kindergärten. Aufbauend auf dem übergreifenden konzeptionellen Modell wird SP2 empirische Belege für den Zusammenhang zwischen dem institutionellen Kontext Kindergarten und individueller Gesundheit und gesundheitlichen Ungleichheiten liefern. Mit der Erforschung von gesundheitlicher Ungleichheit in einem frühen Stadium des Lebensverlaufs wird ein wichtiger Beitrag für die Forschung in Deutschland geleistet. 



Mannheimer Institut für Public Health, Sozial- und Präventivmedizin, Medizinische Fakultät Mannheim, Universität Heidelberg

  • Sven Schneider, apl. Prof. Dr.
  • Jennifer Hilger-Kolb, M.Sc.
  • Raphael Herr, Dr.
  • Katharina Diehl, PD Dr.